External Science Advisory Committee

The ESAC advises the Center’s Executive Committee with respect to UC CEIN's strategic directions and management policies.  The ESAC provides feedback on the focus and direction of UC CEIN research, progress made toward achieving Center goals, and illuminating new research and educational opportunities.  The diversity of this group provides a comprehensive perspective on the major advances in nanotechnology and key issues with regards to potential environmental implications.  

Pedro Alvarez
Dept. Chair, Professor of Engineering, Rice University

Ahmed Busnaina
Director, NSEC, Professor of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, Northeastern University

Sharon Dunwoody
Professor, Journalism & Mass Communication, University of Wisconsin - Madison

C. Michael Garner
Program Manager, Intel Corporation

Agnes Kane
Dept. Chair, Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Brown University

Mark Lafranconi
Consultant, Tox Horizons

Terry Medley
Global Director, Coporate Regulatory Affairs, DuPont

Kent Pinkerton
Director, Center for Health & the Environment, UC Davis

Rick Pleus
Managing Director, Toxicologist, Intertox

Omowunmi Sadik
Director, Center for Advanced Sensors and Environmental Systems, SUNY Binghamton University

Ron Turco
Director, Indiana Water Resources Research Center, Professor of Agronomy, Purdue University

Isiah Warner
Vice President, Strategic Initiative, Professor of Analytical & Environmental Chemistry, Louisiana State University

Jeff Wong
Deputy Director, Chief Scientist, Dept. of Toxic Substances Control, California Environmental Protection Agency

Paul Zimmerman
Program Manager, External Programs, Interconnect, Intel